This morning’s project

This morning's project was the construction of two of these planter boxes. They are four feet square, and will be planted in the wife's square foot gardening scheme. If all goes according to plan, this pair of boxes will supply us with food all summer.

My contribution to the project has so far been primarily labor. Next the sod will get cleared and transported to a bare place in the back of the yard. Some leveling and fine tuning of position, a bit of trellis, and it will be ready for planting. From the green of the lawn you can see it is time to get busy, lest we lose any more growing season to the vagaries of this year's weather.

The daffodils have taken a hit from the snowfall last week. Poor things didn't enjoy having four inches of snow piled on them. Many of the stems have broken, and I fear we won't see good ones again until next year.

I've transported all the indoor plants out for the day. We're above freezing for a full week in the forecast. Woot!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This morning’s project

  1. jaklumen says:

    I wish I had a yard– being in an apartment, I have to make use of the windowsill, or the back porch, if I can get away with it.

  2. Doug says:

    Last year all of this was done in containers – half barrels. You can get a surprising amount of cherry tomatoes off a single vine. Kitchen herbs are also particularly easy in a small space. Nothing beats fresh!

  3. And PEPPERS!I grew hot peppers in buckets and other smallish containers and harvested so many that I had to freeze most of them.I haven't been in a place where I could grow anything for the last 3 years…I am really looking forward to an outdoor space for my peppers. It might be a challenge growing them in Vancouver, BC.

  4. Lauri says:

    Hooray for raised beds!Hooray for temps over freezing for a week! My daffodils look just like yours. 😦

Comments are closed.