Basement nirvana

Strange men are working in the house today.

My schedule is thoroughly scrambled, I've been out of sorts all morning. Now they are banging and tapping in the basement performing incomprehensible work, scraping, pounding, working the crumble out of my foundation, and all the while babbling in an incomprehensible (Eastern Europe, I think) language. They chat and argue and tell the occasional joke. I only worry when the tapping stops… but so far it starts as often as it stops.

The old mud comes out, the new mud goes in.

I'm doing my best to stay out of the way and allow them to work, in vain hopes that someday I will have achieved a clean dry basement with neat finished walls. The pity is that the work doesn't end here. Next comes some form of painting, and a complete overhaul of the primary indoor storage for the house. I'm really looking forward to that one. The immediate work is being done in the absence of laundry, since the appliances are unplugged and pulled away from the walls. So it is a footrace now, to see if the two mysterious foreign men can accomplish goal of basement nirvana before I run out of underwear.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basement nirvana

  1. Was this supposed to be funny? I hope so because I laughed a lot… footrace… underwear… HAHAHAH!!! omg hilarious.

  2. Doug says:

    I'm happy to say the strange foreign men have finished, and the laundry situation is now back to normal šŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.