Pride

I don't like public displays of patriotism.

I don't like flags, bunting, or loud martial music.

I don't like crowds of people, with hands on heart, pledging allegiance to anything.

I don't like group prayers.

I don't like civic displays of military hardware.

I don't like fly-overs of loud jets, booming of cannon, or twenty-one gun salutes.

I don't like swagger, loud proclamations, or chest thumping of any kind.

The reason I don't like these things is because they are displays of pride. Pride is perhaps the greatest of sins, because pride causes people to commit all manner of misery upon each other. What great social cataclysm cannot ultimately be explained by pride and the desire to dominate? What small destructive domestic act does not have pride at its root?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.