Leon

There was a time when I spent a lot of time listening to this guy. At the time it was really hard to explain, as the radio fare was predominantly hair bands, plastic packaged pop, and various flavors of new punks. But something about Leon's simple presentation, nostalgia, and weirdness, just made it sit comfortably in my twisted psyche.

In performance Leon can only be described as disturbing. There's something not quite right, but you can't identify it either. Is he for real? The delivery is dead-pan and right on, but you can't help but feel he's laughing at us just a little. But the tunes were great in their day and still work on some level.

Leon's musical technique is interesting too. His ensemble playing is more like Dixieland than I would suppose from the era, and I've never seen him play a song the same way twice. He's a very engaged musician under that detached exterior.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leon

  1. jaklumen says:

    Ah, Leon Redbone. I first heard him on the Dr. Demento Show with his "Laughin' Blues" recording. Good stuff.I have not had the opportunity to see him in person, but I believe you. Weird, off-kilter, and slyly witty is all right by me.

  2. Doug says:

    Shadow puppets. "Alabama Jubilee," "Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone," and "Shine on Harvest Moon." You had the feeling watching that you were in a little dive somewhere, and they were the house band amusing themselves. Good show, though.

Comments are closed.