JJQ #15 A Favorite Place

“What was a favorite place to go with your family when you were young.”

My family moved around so much when I was small that we never really went places more than once. Heck, I still do that, but never mind. The place I remember at the moment was the Platte river in Kansas/Oklahoma. I think it was a state park of some kind. We spent the better part of a day there, exploring a long leisurely stream of clean water punctuated by small waterfalls at short intervals. It was a day of wading, sort of a natural water-park. Maybe it is the natural ions, or the time spent is simple play, but I remember that day fondly. It doesn’t really require much to have a great day, merely the suspension of toil and care. Also friends and siblings to share, and maybe a good picnic lunch.

There’s something about a day on the water – it makes you a better person.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to JJQ #15 A Favorite Place

  1. Aubrey says:

    And a sunset on the water – even better.

Comments are closed.