Despereaux is not Shrek

We went to see The Tale of Despereaux, and really enjoyed it.

It expresses real values, Chivalry, Honesty, Integrity, without making fun of them. It doesn't require pop culture references to work. It  doesn't require pop music to hold my attention. Best of all, it modernizes the "fairy story" without demeaning it.

I'm not saying I didn't enjoy any of the various Shrek movies, because I did, but this was a different animal. They played it straight, and they played it very well. Now I have to go read the book to find out what I missed…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Despereaux is not Shrek

  1. jaklumen says:

    Sounds good, although more than likely we'll catch it when it comes out on DVD.

  2. Doug says:

    I think that's true for many people, the theatre was very nearly empty. Too bad, they don't know what they're missing. No doubt they were down the hall seeing Yes Man, Bedtime Stories, Marly & Me, or The Day the Earth Stood Still.

  3. jaklumen says:

    Well, for me, it isn't a matter of "this movie seems better"; it's entirely a matter of cost. Movies at the theater are a luxury we simply can't afford.But yes, I can believe the movie is probably very underrated so far, and many of the other movies you've listed are very overrated.

  4. Emmi says:

    It's always tricky modernizing things like that, it's definetly an art.

Comments are closed.