A time to unburden

Organizing the basement this morning, I found some things I hadn't seen in a while:

9 DC Power adaptors
175 floppy discs
8 pairs of headphones/earbuds
5 combs
3 Texas Instrument calculators
6 pairs of eyeglasses
10 sets of audio cables with sundry ends

I binned a lot of trash and got the rest sorted into storage boxes, but there is much left to do. A "kitchen" area needs to be created. A lot of old plastic and glass-wares need to disappear. I need a workspace down there for hardware and tools. But most of all, I need to get out from under fifty years of accumulation. You know that stuff you're keeping for some day? You're never going to use it. Basically you're saving it for the time you can tell your neighbor, "wait a minute, I think I've got one of those."

Anybody need a parallel printer cable?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A time to unburden

  1. jaklumen says:

    You know that stuff you're keeping for some day? You're never going to
    use it. Basically you're saving it for the time you can tell your
    neighbor, "wait a minute, I think I've got one of those."You admit more things than many pack rats in my family (including myself) do.175 floppy discsI'm assuming they are the 3.5" ones? I can't imagine that many in 5.25" or the relatively obscure 8" (which I have never seen). How technology changes– flash memory prices keep coming down, but "cloud computing" seems to be on the rise– remote access to another server for your data, like what Google is developing (and already has by less obvious means).

  2. Seery says:

    A parallel printer cable – hmm … is that the printer you keep in the parallel universe of your (aherm) basement?

  3. cat says:

    But you know when you throw that stuff away you're going to need it the next day. Like my black denim vest. I held on to that for twenty years before I gave it way. Sigh – big mistake. Are they afro combs – I could do with another one of those.

  4. lauowolf says:

    mazing the stuff you pack away, thinking you'll do something with.I've been wading through a lot of it myselfEnds up what I'll eventually do with it is get rid of it.(Yay for freecycle, craigslist, and the El Cerrito recycling center!)

  5. your list scares me! 175 floppy discs? wow… i see a potential art project with that. hmmm.

  6. Doug says:

    Funny you should say that, because I was considering something quite like that. Need many zip ties.

  7. Doug says:

    OMG! I just went and checked out the freecycle listing for my town, and there is a thriving community of swappers. Thanks!

  8. Doug says:

    No afro combs, but I can let you have at least two DOS era programming languages.

  9. Doug says:

    My basement is an alternate reality, it makes sense.

  10. Doug says:

    I come from a long line of pack-rats. I swear, I thought I had it under control. Just a little hoarding, on weekends, or just socially. Then, before you know it, the basement looks like Fibber McGee's closet.

  11. ooo! zip ties are incredibly handy things. if you do turn those discs into art, please do share in a post. 🙂

  12. cat says:

    Well I guess you never know when they might come in handy

  13. a says:

    [das ist gut]

Comments are closed.