Kalimba

This is a thumb piano I made a few years ago. Notice the genuine Canadian hardware. It's tunable within a small range, and makes a mellow twangy sound. Some sounds get clicky with the fingernails. I think it's cool, but it drives my wife and kids nuts. (It's really too bad I have no appreciable sense of rhythm.)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kalimba

  1. This is marvelous that you made this!!!I love the kalimba. A good friend of mine is putting out an album featuring the kalimba (he also plays kalimba on some of my music) – it's a gorgeous instrument.

  2. Doug says:

    I have no idea what these are supposed to sound like.

  3. they are obviously not previously used popsicle sticks – no telltale blue moon stain 9-}

  4. Michelle says:

    I love the Kalimba used in music. Though, since I was young I've always called it a plinky box. You've done a wonderful job with this and I'd love to hear what it sounds like.

Comments are closed.