QotD: Touch-Screen Pros & Cons

How could touch–screen technology enhance the way you currently use your PC? How could it make things worse?
Sponsored by WePC.com. Help us make your Dream PC a reality.

I use touch-screen computers every day – mostly I find them to be a nuisance. Too many typos. Too many missed targets. Too much interaction required in general, not to mention having to do things twice because the buttons on most GUI conversions are small and poorly located. If the software is properly designed the touch screen can be an asset, but most commercial programming is clueless about the human interface. I miss my trackball.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to QotD: Touch-Screen Pros & Cons

  1. Waterbaby says:

    Is there no option of a mouse or trackball with the screen?

  2. jaklumen says:

    The thing I don't like much about touch screens is bare fingers. I'd rather use a pen or finger stylus because… look, there's enough skin oil in fingerprint patterns all over most every monitor screen I own, and really, it's better to have such a tool as they are more precise than my sausage-gauge fingers.

  3. Peanut butter makes such a mess

  4. Doug says:

    Grubby fingerprints are indeed an issue. What's worse is when I try to clean the screen during a machine operation and inadvertently interrupt it. Sigh.

  5. Scott Ebert says:

    I am final, I am sorry, it at all does not approach me. Thanks for the help.

Comments are closed.