What about the schools that get left behind?

My daughter's high school sent a letter around explaining that she is now in a "failing" school. Under the provisions of NCLB, a school must show at least 7.5% improvement over last year's scores. Presumably, they must score 7.5% better every year until 100% of their students are above average.

Huh?

Does anybody understand how this is supposed to work?

This was a legacy from the Bush era. What does it mean? Have I failed my child by failing to move her into a more affluent neighborhood? Perhaps her individual achievement shouldn't matter to me so long as the school passes its marks? Maybe I should petition the school to remove some of its dead-beat scholars so my tax dollars aren't wasted?

I'm pretty cynical about the whole thing. But then I've always had a poor attitude toward high school.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What about the schools that get left behind?

  1. lauowolf says:

    and of course it is on improvementwhat if the school started off okay?my head hurts

  2. Doug says:

    That it exactly. Compared to the high school I graduated from, this place is Harvard!

  3. Under the provisions of NCLB, a school must show at least 7.5%
    improvement over last year's scores. Presumably, they must score 7.5%
    better every year until 100% of their students are above average.This is what happens when politicians stick their noses into stuff they don't understand. Clearly, they were all left behind in math class. Or else they think we should all be living in Lake Wobegon.

  4. Doug says:

    Exactly right. The men are strong, the women are good looking, and all the children are above average.

  5. I have never been convinced that learning a lot of facts and doing well on standard tests is important, although I did it at one time. The thing I think is most valuable is learning to love to learn. There are so many new things every year it would be a shame if school turned a person off so they never got to enjoy learning something new.

Comments are closed.