The Elegance of the Hedgehog

This wonderful little book is translated from the French. I tells the story of people’s secret lives. Paloma, a precocious twelve-year-old and Madame Michel, the concierge of the apartment building where she lives, live secret lives of intelligence and wit surrounded by lesser mortals. They are exposed by Monsieur Ozu, and new inhabitant of the building and an extremely perceptive man. The story is charming and witty, the sort of character exposition that requires very little in the way of plot to advance the story. I’ve only half finished, so there’s still a sense of discovery for me. Great reading.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Elegance of the Hedgehog

  1. I have been on the waiting list at my library for over six months. I am suspicious that someone absconded with the book and they have not replaced it. I will have to inquire what the delay is.

Comments are closed.