Leave Your Sleep

You folks all know what kind of music you like – but I think this one is something special. It is a rather ambitious project, being the result of five years work. Ms Merchant has taken an eclectic selection of poetry from children’s and fantasy literature and set them to music. The result is a hypnotic and magical recording that spans as many musical styles and genres as the bounds of poetry will allow.

“The Nursery Rhyme of Innocence and Experience,” “Equestrienne,” and “The Peppery Man” are my own favorites, but I suspect that anyone that listens to it will select different ones. The tone of the recording is intimate and secretive, full of imagination. It is child-like without being childish.

For more see:

Amazon

New York Times

Natalie Merchant

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Leave Your Sleep

  1. Cimmorene says:

    That is so pretty. No doubt the music is good, too.

    Seriously, Doug. I’ll have to pry myself loose for a bit and go have a listen.

  2. akamonsoon says:

    She has a wonderful voice. She also looks like she has not aged one bit! Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Freedom Smith says:

    This sounds delightful!! Thank you for the suggestion!

  4. jaklumen says:

    I shall have to ask my baby sister about this. She attended one of Ms. Merchant’s concerts recently (aye, I found out because I called her and she happened to be at the concert).

  5. seery says:

    Stunning.
    Ty for the heads up. My copy came yesterday.
    Special. Very very special.

    • Doug says:

      I’m so glad you like it – some projects are so much more than they appear. (Had they known it would cost more than $700K they probably never would have started.) There’s still a place for hand-crafted music.

  6. GOF says:

    I love the sound of Natalie Merchant’s voice….I have her old album “Ophelia”, now I’ll have to check out this one.

Comments are closed.