Good advice

The lovely Aubrey put me in mind of an old book, given to me by a friend long ago. I think it was meant to instruct young children on various aspects of socialization, being filled with sage advice like “Never Throw Stones,” and “Seaside Dangers.”

The stories are short and rather melodramatic, but it has some lovely line drawings :

that seem to depict either good children or bad, or perhaps the consequences of failing to follow grandmother’s advice :

I can’t find an actual date anywhere in the book, but I’d place it somewhere between 1860 and 1880. There is a publisher’s mark, but no publisher’s data except for the city of Boston. I think perhaps it was privately printed by a wealthy matron intent on making us better people. The author is a Mrs. L. M. Childs

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good advice

  1. kimkiminy says:

    How neat! Maybe you should try to scan all the pages for posterity?

  2. akamonsoon says:

    These are great. Love the old fashioned drawings. Old books are such a treasure.

  3. LBeeeze says:

    The top left one especially reminds me of a Dickens story.

  4. Freedom Smith says:

    I love reading old books about rules and etiquette. Things sure have changed! The drawings look very interesting in your book. Did you learn any new rules that we should be aware of? 🙂

  5. kerstin66 says:

    I like the smell in old books. the drawings are very good in this book.

Comments are closed.