Not quite what I had planned

The last of the up-grades are coming online… I think that motions feel faster, and that tactile feedback is much better than in meat space. The finest robotic container that money can buy is mine. I feel strong and young, and the polished exoderm looks fantastic.

Do you wish to activate the firewall?

Whatever. Saying goodbye to that smelly bag of bones and sinews? A small price to pay to have reliable data retrieval. Not to mention sensory input at higher resolution.

Do you wish to optimize?

Yes, I want to be optimized for the first time ever…

This may take several minutes. Please wait.

Time feels as if it is slowing… The time it takes to think is so small now, I literally feel as if I have all the time in the world. Waiting is not a problem if you never need to sleep again, if you never again need to take time for medical treatments or hygienic chores. This system has great automation design.

Diagnostics indicate that efficiency can be improved by archiving non-standard data. Do you wish to do this?

I don’t remember discussing this. Is there a help file?

Security level inadequate. Do you wish to do this?

No, I don’t wish to do this.

Archiving. This may take several minutes.

Wait! Override! I don’t wish to do this.

Security level inadequate. Please wait.

This doesn’t feel right. Where did everything go? I don’t see anything. I can’t read the text stream. What?

Archive complete.

Re-start to accept changes.

This entry was posted in Microfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Not quite what I had planned

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    I don’t understand what happened but I hope it works out OK! Sounds like your upgrade did not go according to plan.

    • jaklumen says:

      “Posted by Doug under Microfiction” says it all.

      He’s not talking about a reality occurence; he’s telling a fictional story.

    • Doug says:

      Sometimes it’s better to stick with the old software, at least you knew it worked!

  2. LBeeeze says:

    HAL? HAL?

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAL???? Don’t do this to me HAL!!!

  3. lol brings back memories

  4. kimkiminy says:

    “…and that’s why I can’t turn off the computer, honey. Ever again.”

Comments are closed.