A summer slice

Hello good people – sorry I’ve been away. The past month we saw a senior prom, college selection, graduation, a family friend visiting from Mississippi, a trip to France for that same daughter, and the usual mayhem of home life. I am exhausted. Anyway, this weekend we decided to let it all float and relax.

We did some geocaching. Found 3 out of 4 :

There was one location called the “Tree of Soles” that was along a country road in the middle of nowhere.

Tried the wares of the New Glarus company, which they tell me can only be bought in Wisconsin:

Which was very fine indeed.

Also did a bit of gardening. Here is the current condition of the coffee can forest:

We are finally getting genuine summer, trying to make the most of it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A summer slice

  1. ladywise says:

    Wow you have been busy! It has gotten so hot here that I can’t stand going outside. This time of year is the one time of year that I wish I lived further north! lol

  2. geocacherinkerstin says:

    Doug you are busy with the geocaching things-I love it-but you know it….and the shot with the shoes in the tree is cool….Have you a account at geocaching.com ? I have it-my name is dreadart 🙂

    • Doug says:

      I have an account – porphyrus – but I don’t track finds online. I’m usually too tired after 😉

  3. glad you’ve hoofed it back our way and love the tree of shoes!

  4. phantomxii says:

    I like the Tree of Soles! I don’t know much about geocaching—I take it there’s generally a logbook somewhere? Was it hidden among all the footwear?

    • Doug says:

      Hidden below the base of the tree. Generally there are trinkets of some kind in the box, you take one and leave one.

  5. akamonsoon says:

    Sounds like a great summer so far! Welcome back. 🙂

Comments are closed.