I made cheese

 

 

 

Made from 8 cups whole milk (1/2 gal). Heat slowly, stir frequently until the milk boils. Add 4 Tbsp. lemon juice, stir a little, remove from heat. Let the curds settle for 30 min, then strain through cheesecloth in a colander. Wrap the cheesecloth into a little bag and let it hang for a couple of hours. Then compress in the refrigerator overnight. So simple!

It’s got a rich flavor, but plain. Needs a bit of salt, I think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I made cheese

  1. akamonsoon says:

    Oh yum! That sounds so simple to make, too.

  2. kimkiminy says:

    WOW! I’m impressed.

  3. I have to say it … “You cut the cheese too!”

    That actually sounds like it might be interesting to try. Thanks for the idea.

    • Doug says:

      Sadly there is none left now 😦 We are thinking we will add fresh dill to the next one, perhaps for spreading on crackers…

Comments are closed.