Try to read the good stuff

I have only one resolution for the new year : Try to read things that are worth reading. (That means less tv and less surfing, but so far it has been a sort of time creator.)

I was talking with an old friend recently, when he remarked that he’s read 62 books in the past year. Seriously? I think I read four. So that’s the plan. The score so far for 2012 : “The Bean Trees” by Barbara Kingsolver and “The Book of Tea” by Kakuzo Okakura. Started in 2011, I know, but finished in 2012. So only 60 to go 😉

There are a number of places to find lists of books to read, so I’ll be combing through those. Next up : “Pigs in Heaven” (sequel to the Kingsolver book above), The Kama Sutra, and something by Dickens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Try to read the good stuff

  1. You couldn’t have started the New Year with better books: “The Bean Trees” and “The Book of Tea” are very different, but each terrific in their own right.

    I have to chuckle however at the “Kama Sutra.” You’re reading it for its spiritual insights, I take it?

  2. Lissa Kl says:

    I participate at Goodreads.com Whenever I hear about a book (NPR, some blog) I look up on Goodreads and check out the reviews. You can tell usually whether you might find it worthwhile after a short amount of research. I record all the books I read here and write a little bit about everyone to help others out. After a while I have identified people who write good reviews and ‘friended’ or ‘followed’ their reviews. I have enormous lists of things I want to read. My problem is like yours prioritizing my small amount of time.
    —– mommalibrarian

  3. kimkiminy says:

    Good for you! I usually read voraciously, but for the past half-year I’ve been busy trying to make money. Read several books about proofreading and copyediting, but that hardly counts. That’s why I’m still on Don Quixote after all this time! Got about a quarter of it left.

    • Doug says:

      I especially don’t like reading for work. Ugh. It’s been a pleasurable thing for me, mostly, and I hate to waste it! (I know someone that actually finished Don Quixote, which I find amazing. That is stubbornness!)

Comments are closed.