They can’t see you if you don’t move

Daughter #2 received a traffic citation. $120. She deserved it.

Next receives a notice of suspended license. $70.

Received notice that remedial driving class is required. $100.

Then I get a notice that one of my cars has been “randomly” selected to have its insurance coverage checked. Could I please provide proof of coverage? Guess which car they picked. No problem for me, but you can be sure that she’d have received a hefty fine had I answered negatively.

It seems clear that someone in the secretary of state’s office has taken a personal interest in my family. Anonymous, faceless, with petty powers to harass and annoy. A lowly minion with a comfortable pension, working in a financially incompetent state.

I don’t dispute anything they’ve done, it’s all perfectly legal. But is it really necessary to run up the score? Do we require zero tolerance simply because databases are so easily checked?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to They can’t see you if you don’t move

  1. When I was living in Minnesota, I noticed that as soon as I was issued a ticket for speeding (yes, I had been, but there were other cars that had blasted right past me right before I was pulled over) I got a bunch of other notices asking that I take my car in for emissions testing, proof of insurance, and other odd procedures. Since the state and the county were running on a deficit, I reasoned that they were fishing for how many fines they could charge me while I was in their clutches. In my mind I envisioned an image of the state as a giant hand, shaking me upside down to see how much money would fall out of my pockets. (I didn’t have any at the time, since I’d been laid off yet again by the college I worked for, and was working at grunt jobs to pay the rent.)

    I don’t know what you can do, except maybe move or become like those survivalists who “disappear” and go off the grid. But then you deprive yourself of all the services you get from being a citizen, like being able to call 911 when you get hurt or robbed, or the fire department when your house is on fire.

    • Doug says:

      I don’t think it’s really possible to disappear now, not for a person with fed loans and mortgages. Fees and levies are the worst possible form of taxation.

      • You can thank Tim Pawlenty, the former governor of Minnesota, for creating that tax structure. He boasted during his second term that Minnesota taxes actually went down under his administration. That was because he raised fees—car registration, drivers license renewal, building permits, fishing and hunting licenses, etc. Some people said that was a great way to collect revenue because you were charging those who were using the services of the state. The problem came about when municipalities began using the same structure to collect money for their strained treasuries. One suburb became notorious for the number of speed traps set on their main streets. I actually received a ticket there when I hadn’t been charged with anything. A cop pulled me over to tell me my tail light was out. I wasn’t issued a ticket, but three days later I received a letter saying I’d been cited one. I had to go to court and clear it up, losing a day at work. I wondered if they were hoping I would pay the fine without questioning why I’d received the letter.

  2. LG says:

    Sounds terribly unfair and rigged….although I can’t see how it could be rigged.

    • Doug says:

      True – and that’s just the thing. So much of my privacy has been stripped away in the name of “security” that I now feel an incredible disadvantage over any dealing with government, no matter how small. Everything looks like a conspiracy!

  3. lauowolf says:

    If it helps any, it is probably all automatic.
    The original ticket probably ticked on a program that is spewing out the lot of this, with no human person involved at all.
    Big Brother isn’t actually watching you, but his computer is.

  4. we say here to this “Würg”….by you : Gag or Uhg….WÜRG 🙂

Comments are closed.