Must go to the store

There are certain items that, when you run out of them, it will cause a person to finally get off a person’s bottom and go to the store. No more putting it off, no matter the weather or the fact you’ve been ill all morning, these things overcome ennui.

At my house the list includes :

Cat food
Toilet paper
Coffee
Tampons

These are the stuff of civilization, the reasons we keep the species going.

What’s on your list?

This entry was posted in Herds. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Must go to the store

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    We’d go out for coffee beans most definitely! On that same note I’d have to go out for half & half or milk as I hate black coffee. Don’t think much else would make me leave the house – I always have a huge supply of toilet paper which is the only other thing that I think of as really necessary.

  2. Jane says:

    It’s always dog food here. I can make the people get by for days on baked beans, eggs and toasted sandwiches but once the dog food is all gone, well thats it.

  3. Toilet paper for sure, though I have to admit I have been known to drive out in a blizzard to get a bottle of wine. My kids used to say that was proof I was an alcoholic, but I would retort that a glass of wine was the only way I could tolerate a Minnesota winter. Now, I don’t have much of an excuse, except simply that I miss having a glass of wine before bed. But an achy back or sheer fatigue will convince me that I don’t need it as much as I need a hot bath and an early bedtime.

  4. LG says:

    Vegetables.
    Body spray.
    Milk.
    The rest get delivered home with a phone call. Ideally body spray would get delivered too, but I am finicky and need one specific spray (Revlon Charlie) that is sold in only one store in my entire city, and that store does not home deliver.

  5. Same as your list with the additions of:

    Milk
    Cat Litter

  6. Doug says:

    So list new list stands:

    Pet food
    Toilet paper
    Coffee
    Tampons
    Milk
    Wine
    Vegetables
    Body spray
    Cat litter

    Who’s going today?

    • This is why people shop at places like Costco or Sam’s Club. You stock up so you only have to go to the store once a month. Of course, fresh vegetables don’t keep unless you throw them in the freezer. Which why Green Giant and Birdseye exist….

  7. kimkiminy says:

    Milk. Eggs. TP. I’ve been known to make a special trip (46 miles round trip) to the nearest general store in Julian for tampons. Fresh produce. A certain breakfast cereal, if I missed it being low. And I now keep a package of crown/filling dental repair cement for those emergencies that always seem to happen at 6pm on the Friday evening before a holiday weekend. And of course, booze.

Comments are closed.