PC

I despise the term.

It started as a way to annoy liberals, a less than subtle way to punish the notion of inclusiveness.

Then it became “I am a rebel that says what he wants.” Virtually any vile thing may now be said by prefacing it with the (repeatable and predictable) phrase : “It may not be politically correct to say it, but…”

Now it’s also become a way for privilege to complain. When they say “I don’t feel I can wish someone merry Christmas without them being offended,” it means “I don’t like to be challenged.” Or “I shouldn’t have to worry about the feelings of others.” This fundamental lack of respect has become an unwelcome feature in all of our lives, with lack of “political correctness” being now worn like a badge of achievement.

It is a very satisfying and useful concept to the persecuted, especially those who feel the need to feel persecuted. While enjoying the privileges of race, religion, or class status, they nevertheless feel someone is picking on them.

It is also a really useful phrase for billionaire blowhards trying to be populist, particularly during an election contest.

So what is “politically correct” really? It’s code, an affirmative message between racists, hooligans, and misogynists. Please remind these a$$holes that freedom of speech does not mean freedom from criticism. If you are what you eat, you might also be what you say.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PC

  1. Thank you for writing this. I got “yelled at” the other day (actually, it was an email typed in CAPS) by an alleged friend who made a number of derogatory remarks about Muslims. I chastised him, reminding him that if he substituted the word “Japanese” where he said “Muslims,” he would have duplicated, word for word, the anti-Japanese propaganda that came out in the 1940s and in a somewhat more sophisticated form in the 1980s. He retorted, alright, I will be more sensitive and PC from now on, and by the way, I’m a liberal! though using words that weren’t as polite. I decided to stop feeding the troll and didn’t reply. I have no idea if I will be in contact with this person again or not, but I was thinking, ‘All he had to do was say, ‘I’m sorry,’ and I would have left it at that.’ We live in an age where saying ‘I’m sorry’ is a mark of weakness, apparently. Or maybe we’ve rendered those words meaningless because too often, politicians and celebrities say they’re sorry when they aren’t. I don’t know: but it’s a sadder world we live in these days.

    • Doug says:

      We seem to have lost the idea that we can disagree about things without being disrespectful, that we can still be civil to people we disagree with. But it’s worse than that, because so many seem to think respect is only deserved by someone stronger than you.

      We have a word for this: fascism.

Comments are closed.