Daily Prompt: Renewal

What I don’t understand about renewal, is how it immediately nullifies the need to do anything. For example, when I renew my magazine subscription (back when I read actual paper magazines) I immediately stop reading them. When I renew my Netflix queue, I lose all desire to watch anything in it. Is there an English word for this phenomenon?

Those of you about to renew your wedding vows, beware!

I actually think of renewal as a daily happening. This is why mornings are the best time, before you begin to worry about things, before you are relentlessly crushed by the futility of working, before you discover that people have once again disappointed you.

At my house this wonderful feeling of renewal lasts about three minutes.

But having grasped this feeling, you can carry a bit with you, like a sweet in your pocket to be savored later.

via Daily Prompt: Renewal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.