Civilization has ruined me

I bought a little back-packing stove off the Amazon. It’s stainless with all kinds of air holes in it, the idea being to use small pieces of wood to do your cooking. It’s simple enough to put together, and the design seemed good for the purpose.

Since it was a beautiful day, I thought I would give it a back-yard test run.

I haven’t started any fires in a while. When I have they usually require striking a match and turning a knob, or, at most, squirting some sort of petroleum onto some charcoal. I seem to have lost some of the basic skills of hobo life. I had to start over at least once, and expended far too many matches in the ignition of this device. Once I got the hang of it though, it burned quickly and went through my little pile of sticks in no time. I wonder if I have to give any Boy Scout badges back now.

Having obtained glowing coals at last, I could finally start to heat the water.

The plan was to create a cup of tea.

I’m not sure this didn’t end up being some kind of Buddhist frustration activity. It took a ridiculously long time to boil that water. Talk about being in the moment. « Would you freaking boil already?!? »

Finally it worked. It wasn’t stellar tea, but it was adequate. Next time I will try to feed myself. I sincerely hope I won’t have to kill something first.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Civilization has ruined me

  1. shythom says:

    LOL! A little too rustic for me. We now just a small old trailer (from the 70’s), pots to boil the water from the propane-gas stove or campfire, and then, because I can’t start my day without decent coffee, we bought a light-weight, camping coffee press. We grind up coffee beans (always dark roast) before the trip. It’s really sad… And I need decent red wine to go with our traditional thick-cut steaks grilled over the fire. It’s very sad. It’s not camping. It’s glamping!

Comments are closed.